New A-League teams announced

Written by:

The A-League will expand to 12 teams in the next two seasons after FFA decided to award licences to new teams based in Western Melbourne and South West Sydney.

Western Melbourne Group will enter the league in October – in time for next season – with the Macarthur South West Sydney bid, based in Campbelltown, entering for the 2020/21 campaign.

The decision comes after a protracted and heated fight to join the league, with long-term favourites Team 11, based out of Dandenong, one of four shortlisted bids to miss out.

One of the key issues that got the bid over the line is proposing to pay for its own stadium without government funding, with a 15,000 seat venue being built in Tarneit.
The South-east Victorian bid required around $120 million in government funding for its new stadium to be built in the Dandenong CBD.

Source, Image & More: