SANFL to return to Adelaide Oval

Written by:

Full length football matches will return to Adelaide Oval from June 27 after the SANFL released a revised fixture for its opening two rounds.

With crowd numbers yet to be determined, all eight clubs in the reduced league will play two home-and-away games over two weekends to kick off the season.

SANFL general manager of football Matt Duldig said playing the first two rounds at Adelaide Oval — a venue usually reserved for SANFL finals — would allow for an even number of home-and-away games when the competition returned to suburban venues from round three.

“In such an extraordinary and challenging year for players, coaches, umpires, club staff, and volunteers, we’re thrilled that they have the opportunity to experience a return to competition at the world-class Adelaide Oval,” he said.

Unlike the AFL which has controversially shortened its quarters to 16 minutes, the SANFL said its games would not be altered.

Opening double-headers

The season opener on June 27 will be played between Central District and Sturt, followed by South Adelaide verses Woodville-West Torrens.

The following day will see North Adelaide play West Adelaide, followed by reigning premiers Glenelg against Norwood.

Four double-headers will also be played at Adelaide Oval the following weekend.

Mr Duldig said the fixture for the remaining 12 minor rounds at suburban ovals would be confirmed within the fortnight but the SANFL was still awaiting the release of the AFL fixture and broadcast schedule.

AFL reserve sides Adelaide Crows and Port Adelaide Magpies have this year withdrawn from the competition after the AFL barred senior-listed players from playing in state leagues due to its own strict medical protocols in place to prevent any spread of coronavirus.

Round One:
June 27: Sturt vs Central District (11:50am); South Adelaide vs Woodville-West Torrens (2:40pm)
June 28: North Adelaide vs West Adelaide (12am); Glenelg vs Norwood (3:05pm)
Round Two:
July 4: Sturt vs Woodville West Torrens (12:05pm); Norwood vs North Adelaide (3:05pm)
July 5: South Adelaide vs Glenelg (11:50am); West Adelaide vs Central District (2:40pm)